Book Review

Mars One by Johnathan Maberry

“‘But we’re not earthlings anymore,’ she said, her eyes searching mine. ‘Are we?’
I smiled. It almost hurt to smile, I was that scared. ‘No.’ I said.
‘Then what are we?’ She asked.
I cleared my throat.
‘We’re Martians.'”

Johnathan Maberry is a New York Times bestselling and Bram Stoker Award-winning author who wrote this wonderful book, Mars One. Mars One details the events of the first rocket to leave Earth and colonize Mars. More specifically following the life of Tristan Hart, a young and brilliant teenage engineer with a no-nonsense engineer mother and botanist father, who is thrown into fame when a reality show begins following his story as one of 40 colonists headed to Mars.

When I first picked up this book, I was not expecting to fall in love with Tristan as much as I did. He’s funny, honest and vulnerable. The narrative is from his perspective and it’s utterly personal, almost as if reading a journal. He has a way with words that is not unrealistic for a teenager and I couldn’t get enough of his personality.

“I wasn’t crazy about being the center of attention. I wasn’t exactly shy, but my ego still fit into the box it came in.”

Something Maberry does brilliantly is his attention to the science of what is happening within Tristan’s world. He says in his acknowledgments that he was fortunate enough to have access to scientists, doctors, astrophysicists, and space technologists: “When I get the science right, cheer them. When I get it wrong, yell at me.”

I’m pleased to say that I don’t think any yelling is needed! This story was threaded and beaded so well that I didn’t stop for a single second to wonder, “could this really happen?”

I will stop to say that the twists in this book are fairly easy to call. The foreshadowing is pretty straight forward and even I (I am notoriously awful at guessing plot twists) was able to figure out what was going to happen. However, that did NOT keep me from loving every second of this book from start to finish. I cried three times reading this book. It tells a story of love, hope and humanity that gives the reader pause to stop and think about what makes us human and the importance of remembering at the end of the day that we are all human beings on this world together; and that, in itself, is wonderful.

I will definitely be picking up more of Mr. Maberry’s books on my way out of the bookstore.

 

Overall Rating: 

pixil-layer-Background

Leave a Reply

